Governors at Saviour C of E Primary

Dates for the Governing Body meetings, academic year 2017/2018

Autumn 127 September 2018Staffing and Finance and FGB
18 October 2018Pay Committee
Autumn 222 November 2018Staffing and Finance and FGB
Spring 124 January 2018Staffing and Finance and FGB
Spring 228 March 2018Staffing and Finance and FGB
Summer 123 May 2018Staffing and Finance and FGB
Summer 211 July 2018Staffing and Finance and FGB


Diocesan GovernorVacant
Foundation GovernorsChristine Bagley

Chris Fallone

Catherine Hilton (Chair of Governors)

Joyce Mounfield

Mary Whitby

Charmaine Yearsley

HeadteacherEvelyn Lister
LA GovernorPrudence Beaumont
Parent GovernorsHalima Sewehli

Tongoona Sikireta (Vice Chair of Governors)

Staff GovernorShahram Kasiri (Year 5 Teacher)


Terms of Office

The terms of office for our Governors is as follows:

Christine Bagley18/11/2015 to present
Prudence Beaumont22.11.2017 to present
Chris Fallone01/01/2009 to present
Catherine Hilton21/11/2016 to present
Shahram Kasiri26/09/2017 to present
Evelyn Lister01/09/2009 to present
Joyce Mounfield01/01/2009 to present
Halima Sewehli01/12/2010 to present
Tongoona Sikireta21/01/2015 to present
Mary Whitby01/05/2012 to present
Charmaine Yearsley21/10/2017 to present

Saviour C of E Primary School (committees and leads as at 19th September 2017)


Committee membership

Pay Committee                           Pay Appeals

Chris Bagley                            Joyce Mounfield

Chris Fallone                            Halima Sewehli

Cath Hilton                                    Mary Whitby


HT Performance Management

Cath Hilton

Joyce Mounfield

Reserve : Chris Fallone

Assessment and Progress

Cath Hilton

Evelyn Lister

Mary Whitby


Staffing and Finance

Chris Bagley (Chair)

Chris Fallone

Evelyn Lister

Joyce Mounfield

Cath Hilton


Health and Safety

Evelyn Lister

Tongoona Sikireta

Halima Sewehli

All other committees would be convened on an “as and when” basis using available, eligible governors.


Lead/link Governors

SEN: Mary Whitby

Safeguarding/LAC : Chris Bagley

ICT, PP: Chris Fallone

Health and Safety: Halima Sewehli

Governor training: Cath Hilton

Admin and office: Chris Bagley

Early Years: Mary Whitby

Attendance Lead: Chris Bagley


Business and pecuniary interests of the Governing Body

An annual declaration is completed by all members of the Governing Body.

This can be viewed by clicking here.

Attendance Register 2016-2017

Please click the link below to see the attendance of Governors for 2016-2017

Register Governors 2016-2017


Department for Education (DfE): the role of the Governing Body
The DfE sets out information on the role of governing bodies in the Governors’ Handbook. It says: Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

In all types of schools, governing bodies should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:
•    Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
•    Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
•    Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

In other guidance, the DfE explains that the purpose of having a governing body is to:
•    Help the school to set high standards by planning for the school’s future and setting targets for school improvement
•    Keep the pressure up on school improvement
•    Be a critical friend to the school, offering support and advice
•    Help the school respond to the needs of parents and the community
•    Make the school accountable to the public for what it does
•    Work with the school on planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review
•    Exercise its responsibilities and powers in partnership with the headteacher and staff
•    Not intervene in the day-to-day management of the school unless there are weaknesses in the school, when it then has a duty to take action.

It adds:
A school’s governing body is a corporate body
This means it has a legal existence separate from that of its individual members.

As long as governors have acted honestly, without ulterior motive, and reasonably, within the law and regulations, the governing body can’t be held to account as individuals for any liabilities incurred by the governing body.

Governors’ key tasks and legal responsibilities
Section 1.2 of the Governors’ Handbook contains a table which outlines the different responsibilities of the governing body, dependent on the category of the school it serves.

Chapters 2 to 8 of the handbook set out guidance on the key tasks and legal responsibilities of the governing body.

Areas covered include:
Constitution and procedures
◦    The constitution of governing bodies
◦    Collaboration and federation between governing bodies
◦    Procedures governing bodies must follow

Education and school performance
◦    The curriculum
◦    The education of children with special educational needs (SEN) and looked
after children
◦    Ofsted inspections

Pupil wellbeing
◦    The wellbeing of pupils, including school safety and security
◦    Behaviour, attendance and discipline
◦    Reviewing decisions by the headteacher to exclude pupils
◦    Food and uniform policy
◦    Safeguarding pupils
◦    Supporting employees or volunteers facing an allegation

    Teachers and support staff
◦    Annual appraisal of the headteacher’s performance
◦    Pre-employment checks
◦    Teacher appraisal, grievance, discipline and capability processes

Organisational changes to the school and the use of school premises
◦    Converting to academy status
◦    Making other changes to the school
◦    The admissions process and appeals
◦    Relationships with parents

School finance
◦    Accountability for how school money is spent
◦    Financial planning, expenditure and accounting arrangements
◦    Benchmarking spending against others to improve efficiency

Information sharing
◦    Sharing information with the secretary of state and, in some cases, with local
◦    Responding to requests for information under the Freedom of Information and
the Data Protection Acts